Motel Beds ‘These are Days Gone By’ Vinyl Pre-Release show

Motel Beds 'These are Days Gone By' Vinyl Pre-Release show

The fantastic Motel Beds are presenting a rare opportunity for Dayton and Miami Valley music fans on January 18th (doors open at 7pm and show starts at 8pm sharp — so get there early)!

In conjunction with We Care Arts and Misra RecordsThe Motel Beds invite you to join them as they review their musical career with friends and musical allies Smug Brothers and Good English at an All Ages show at the Yellow Cab building on Saturday, January 18!

The ‘Beds are doing what we call a soft, limited release of a retrospective that they are titling after one of their best songs, “These are the Days Gone By.”  500 hand-painted LP covers will be available at the show.  The artists at We Care Arts who will receive a portion of the proceeds — created the unique and distinctive covers (some of which you can see on the poster to the right).  This is a soft, pre-release — meaning you cannot get this anywhere else — for the first 500 LPs and only the first 5oo; they’ve all been hand-painted by the artists at We Care Arts (“changing disabilities into possibilities”) you can learn more about WCA at their website –  The album will be released internationally later in 2014 on Misra Records.

According to the band, “These are the Days Gone By” is a collection of Motel Beds singles, outtakes, and live favorites that represent the history and development of the band. The songs have been remastered by Carl Saff (Dinosaur Jr, GBV, etc) and include added bass parts by local Dayton music legend, Tod Weidner.  This is a musical experience not to be missed!


MOTEL BEDS are a rock & roll band from Dayton, Ohio – a delightfully detached underdog city nestled in the heart of The Heartland. Seasoned veterans, Beds have worked alongside local music advocates Kelley Deal (Deal duets on the lusciously hushed “Tropics of the Sand”) and Robert Pollard (guitarist Derl Robbins has recorded Guided By Voices). Allies aside, when it comes to rock & roll, The Motel Beds speak for themselves.

“These Are the Days Gone By” reveals the fruits of Beds’ labor these latter years. The album is an electrifying collection of “hits,” remastered by Carl Saff (GBV, Dinosaur Jr., etc.) and featuring added bass parts by new(est) member and local ace Tod Weidner. Over a 12-song cycle, the proficiency with which Tommy Cooper and P.J. Paslosky (Motel Beds’ core songwriting duo) augment a solid hook is clearly set on display.

While “Days” largely finds Ian Kaplan at work as one of the finest rock drummers around today (not an embellishment), Beds demonstrate their versatility with two never-before-released tracks: a poppier version of 2011’s “Sunfried Dreams” and a beautiful acoustic cover of Matthew Sweet’s “I’ve Been Waiting”; the latter proving Paslosky to be much more than a rock vocalist. In addition to recording Motel Beds in a visionary manner, guitarist Derl Robbins adds his own unmistakable style and sound.

True to Dayton (see GBV’s “Propeller”), the first 500 LPs are all one-of-a-kind. Each cover was individually hand-painted by the artists at We Care Arts: a non-profit dedicated to “changing disabilities into possibilities.” A portion of the proceeds from these first 500 will go to benefit WCA.

In his glowing review of “Dumb Gold” (2012), AllMusic Senior Editor Stephen Thomas Erlewine noted, “[This] is an album that deserves to break them out of the Rust Belt and onto the larger stage; it’s one of the best straight-ahead indie rock records of 2012.” “Days” takes all of “Dumb Gold’s” assets – song writing, hooks, musicianship, energy and ups them ad infinitum. It’s a remarkable rock record and one that finds Motel Beds carrying the torch for Dayton, Ohio’s independent music scene.

Track List:

1. These are the Days Gone By
2. Ocean Flows
3. Skymade Suit
4. Cactus Kiss
5. Surfjerk
6. Valentimes
7. Lights On
8. Western Son
9. Tropics Of The Sand
10. Sunfried Dreams (alternate version)
11. I’ve Been Waiting
12. Smoke Your Homework

Cross posted at Your Tuesday Afternoon Alternative

Print Friendly

avatar About Art Jipson

Art Jipson is a college professor at the University of Dayton who still believes that music can change the world. He came of musical age with The Ramones, R.E.M., The Replacements, The Connells, and Uncle Tupelo. Art still holds the belief that a great song can be about the lyrics, a great bass line, jangling guitars, and everything in between. As Dr. J, he co-hosts Your Tuesday Afternoon Alternative with Mrs. Dr. J on WUDR every Tuesday from 3-6pm since 2004. You can check out their Facebook page at